Home > Pork CRC presents the Pork CRC APSA Awards

Pork CRC presents the Pork CRC APSA Awards

Supplier News
article image Larissa Beale, winner of the Pork CRC Best Presentation

University of Queensland post-graduate, Larissa Beale, has been awarded the Pork CRC Best Presentation at the 2011 13th Biennial Conference of the Australasian Pig Science Association (APSA) Conference, which was recently held at the Adelaide Hilton Hotel.

Beale’s presentation ‘Probiotics successfully limit the severity of post weaning diarrhoea’ had scored 81.14 (out of a possible 100) and was the only one in the Top Five, which was assessed by all seven judges.

The award for Best First Time Present was given to University of Adelaide post-graduate, Alice Weaver, for her presentation ‘Feeding gilts high fibre diets prior mating improves oocyte quality’. While Dr. Jo Pluske’s Poster ‘Sourcing cereal feed grains for pigs: what are the views of the supply chain?’ won the Best Poster Award with a score of 55.00 (out of a possible 70).

“The Australian pork industry’s medium to long term future, especially in research and development, is clearly in the very capable hands of some fine young Pork CRC supported students,” said Pork CRC CEO, Dr Roger Campbell.

Dr John Keniry, Pork CRC Chairman highlighted the importance of encouraging young people to join the research ranks that support the industry.

“They will form the nucleus of young researchers and production management personnel that will carry the industry forward in future years,” Dr Keniry said.

“In addition to those education programs, we pioneered a process of inviting organisations to bid to undertake projects in areas identified as of interest to Pork CRC.”

Throughout its six years, the Pork CRC has supported 50 honour students, 23 PhD students and five post-doctoral researchers.

“This process resulted in many new researchers coming into the industry and bringing with them knowledge gained from research in other industries that has proved very worthwhile for the pork industry,” said Dr Kenriy.

The seven person judging panel consisted of Dr Dave Cadogan of Feedworks, Dr Roger Campbell, Mr Graeme Crook and Ms Sue Merry, all Pork CRC, Mr Tony Edwards of Ace Livestock Consulting, Mr Dave Henman of Rivalea and Dr Pat Mitchell of APL.

Newsletter sign-up

The latest products and news delivered to your inbox